In Season Two, Premier Futsal will have eight teams

first_imgSHARE COMMENT SHARE SHARE EMAIL Published on Buoyed by the success of the first season, Premier Futsal Management has announced the second season of the multi-national Futsal League.The upcoming season will be played in the first quarter of 2017 with eight franchises across four cities.The team management also said that the league will be a biannual affair from 2017 onwards.The first season of Premier Futsal saw veterans such as Ronaldinho, Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs as marquee players for the six franchises.Premier Futsal Chairman Xavier Britto said: “We have decided to make Premier Futsal a biannual property. Riding on the success of Season One, we will go back to our plan of playing with eight franchises and all the international Futsallers will go under the hammer for Season Two. We will be announcing the processes and auction dates over the course of the next one month.” The inaugural edition of Premier Futsal was seen by over 50 million television viewers and was consumed by over 700 million people across almost 100 countries.Premier Futsal was also the first Indian sports league to stream all matches on Facebook.Abhinandan Balasubramanian, co-founder and CEO, said: “We set out with a mission to give India a new fast paced sport and with the first season of Premier Futsal, I think we are on the right track. The stadium attendance and social media reports suggest 35-40 per cent of the audience were women. We have started work towards packing Premier Futsal as a sport for family audience.”He said the association was in talks with multiple international Futsal Federations to reach out to a wider audience globally and consolidate its position as market leaders.” August 30, 2016 League to be made biannual next year COMMENTS sportlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *